Scrapbooking

A fun thing happened to me Sunday at church.  A young mother came up to me in the kitchen during coffee hour and said, “I did my first scrapbooking yesterday!”  I was delighted, because last fall I gave her an album at her baby shower…a baby girl album, as she and her husband were keeping their expected baby’s gender a secret.  I told her at the time I had a baby boy one, too, and she could trade for it after the birth if she needed to.  And when HE was born, we did exactly that!

She told me she had gone through the album and entered in all the appropriate information so far, and made notes of how many pictures she needed for each event.  She had taken zillions, of course (this is the first baby of his generation), and there was no way she would be printing all of them.

I am excited because, as a professional with a full-time job in addition to motherhood, it would have been easy for her to put the album in the back of the closet and forget it.  But she didn’t…and she is looking forward to printing and saving her precious photographs.

I can hardly wait to have her join us at a Second Saturday Scrap to do just that.  And if you are anywhere near Visalia, California, consider yourself welcome, as well.

3 thoughts on “Scrapbooking

  1. I love scrapbooking, it’s what I do to wind down. I started reading your piece because I was intrigued by the idea of a 13-hour scrapbooking fest in Exeter. And then I realised you are in California, not Devon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

